new baby landing on its back

mjones32

Hi newbie here with my first tortoice. When he falls over on his back should I give him time to figure out jow to get himself back over or should I turn him over? He has only done it once and I panicked and turned him over.
thanks
Melanie

G-stars

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
What kind of tortoise is it? Most will be able to turn themselves over. As long as he doesn't turn himself over in his water dish.

— Gus

mjones32

He is a leopard. 3 months old. How long should I wait before turning him myself?

G-stars

5 Year Member
Southern California
I'd give him 5-10 mins of him trying to turnover. 90% if the time mine turn over but rarely does this happen. You should possibly look into what is causing him to turnover.

— Gus

Last edited:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Just turn him over immediately. Its not good for them to be on their back. Then try to figure out how, where and why he is flipping, and solve the problem.

What are your four temps? What size and type enclosure? Indoor UV? Coil bulb?

mjones32

Tom, I have a 40 gallon tank with a coiled UVB bulb. The warm side of the tank is around 90 degrees. The humidity is 50%. I tried using a plastic container to make a humid hide and the substrate in the hide felt cool to the touch so I was concerned it was too cold and damp. Still trying to figure out how to keep it warm and damp to get the humidity up.

Jodie

5 Year Member
Spokane Valley WA
The coil bulbs are know to cause eye problems. The cool side and night temp should be no less than 80. Basking over 95. You will probably have to cover the enclosure to keep the humidity at 80 percent and hold the heat.
Have you read the care sheets?
A good heat method is a CHE on a thermostat. Use a regular bulb for basking and a tube uvb or use a combo mvb light for daytime.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club