New Bells Hinge backs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tortoise

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Canada
Hello
I'm new here and was advised to post in this specific area for answers.
Yesterday I picked up 2 Bells Hinge Back tortoises, they are super. I know for sure I have a boy because he showed me whilst he was being bathed! The other one I really do not know yet. I really hope I have a pair but will be happy regardless. It would be great to be able to support this species by helping them to breed successfully in captivity.

As I am new to this species I was wondering if you had any advice regarding their care, tortoise enclosures, best conditions etc?
Right now they are in a vivarium but they will be moved to a home made tortoise table when we have designed something.

My red foots are in a home made table the size of a twin bed so have lots of room to roam.

Wondering too about the insect part of the diet and how best to meet this especially during the winter when we can't hunt worms. I can get meal worms etc occasionally but being rural we are not in a major city for them often enough. My Red foots get a bit of rehydrated cat food occasionally-would that be suitable too?
Would you please take a look at photos of my Bells and see if you think you could sex the one in question?
Looking forward to hearing from you.
thank you!

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Sorry, if you posted pictures, they are not showing.

Tortoise

10 Year Member!
Canada
Jacqui said:
Hi Jacqui
Sorry I hadn't attached any yet as I wasn't sure how to
Louise
1044k83_20.jpeg2487g50_20.jpeg1318fni_20.jpeg2922i9d_20.jpeg

Tortoise said:
Jacqui said:
Hi Jacqui
Sorry I hadn't attached any yet as I wasn't sure how to
Louise
These are photos taken in their previous home I'll take some new ones today especially of their underside to hopefully get opinions on their sex.
Thanks
9172b52_20.jpeg70634c0_20.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator: