new enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

snoit83

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Florida
I just moved to Florida and first thing I wanted to do is build a large enclosure for my two sulcatas and one leopard. We have spent about $1000. I have the posts in place and I am digging a foot deep trench so we can bury the fencing. I plan on bringing them in at night because I am afraid of predators. My question is, how do I cover a 50'x50' enclosure? Two of my babies are about 6" and I'm afraid they will be picked up by hawks as they are everywhere here.

MasterOogway

5 Year Member
This is just an idea as I am new to tortoises so it may not be a good idea but we free range chickens and they sell or you can make portable pens that even have house on one side. They are great for protecting chickens from predators and keep them contained while allowing them to free range. You can move the pen each day. Just an idea.

Millerlite

10 Year Member!
Southern Calif.
Start them out on a smaller area maybe 5x5 depending on how big they are. That way you can protect them and find them. As they get older you can just keep goin bigger till they are ready for the big pen. The sulcatas will grow fairly quick but I would start smaller and expand

snoit83

5 Year Member
Florida
I thought about having a smaller area for them but I already spent so much money and time making this too fine area and not to use it would be rather disappointing.

lori12386

5 Year Member
Central Florida
Sorry i took so long to respond. Here is my little outdoor setup. Mine are only about 4". I leave them out pretty much all day when its nice out.
20130110_124652-1.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

lynnedit

10 Year Member!
Southwest Washington
You will need to expand eventually, actually, fairly soon. You will need the entire area.