New in MO getting adult Russian

Status
Not open for further replies.

carnivorouszoo

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Clinton, MO, USA
Hi! I'm Kathy and like the title says I live in MO and am picking up my first tortoise, Talison, an adult male Russian on Thursday. I'll have his table finished tuesday and I am so excited! While I am new to torts I am not new to herps. I used to have snakes. I had a king that got loose and was never found, I had a jungle that refused ft so I rehomed him as I refused to feed live, then I raised corn snakes for almost 3 years. After multiple escapes dispite my best efforts I got burned out on them. I found a person who took different reptiles around to schools for educational shows and donated my snakes to his cause. A few months later I was down and missing having a coldblooded pet, so I got a bearded dragon. Mojo is a citrus female, currently 16inches long and semi-brumating down for 3 days up for one silly thing! Then in November I got a call that a lizard had been abandoned and the shelter did not have any way to care for lizards, so either I take it or they have to put it down. Since it was free I could not say no. I got there and was told it was a sick baby beardie by a volunteer. I could tell right off this was no beardie. Got it home and thought it looked kind of like a spiny agama (well it is spikey lol). Posted on Facebook and my herper friends there told me it was a female emerald swift, after I changed the setup and food to what that type needed she improved greatly and is now a happy and active little critter. I also have a cat, so you can see why I call myself carnivorouszoo online, I've mostly had carnivores and insectivores! However, my beardie also eats veggies and greens so I wanted to add something to the mix to help eat the fresh foods before they go bad as has been a problem lately.