New Just have a few questions about food and age

vargasmelissa

5 Year Member
Like I said I am kinda new to this whole thing :). First here is a few things about donatello (my red foot) and me. We live in KY I am a veterinary technology student at Morehead State. I had wanted a tortoise for 2 years and was able to get him at the Kentucky Reptile Expo. I have had him since January and I love his cute little attitude and weirdness. He is fairly active eating basking, digging, soaking ect. He is roughly 4.5 inches in length and healthy (no parasites or anything I did a fecal). MY question was am i feeding him right?? He gets mostly greens which i rotate through several (kale, collard, turnip, escarole, green and red leaf and others), I also occasionally give him veggies(squash, green beans, peppers ect) fruits as a treat or dandelions, and some plain chicken. HE also gets calcium supplemented to him as well as Natural grassland tortoise food from ZOOMED which is a concentrated pellet that i re-hydrate and place with his greens about every other feeding. My question is am i feeding him right?? I try to balance everything out especially fruits and things but i wanted to check and see. I am also curious about his age like i said he is 4.5 inches long the man i bought him off of said he was 4 years old I have done some research and most red foots are not 4 inches long at 4 years so is he closer to 1 maybe 2 years?? Thanks in advance for all the advice!
P1020488.JPG P1020493.JPG

crimson_lotus

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Massachusetts
Kale and peppers should be fed very sparingly, it has a lot of good stuff but you don't want to overload them, and it is also high in oxalates, which can bind with calcium (esp if not well hydrated) and cause kidney stones. Fruits should be about 20-30% of their diet, you don't want to feed them too much. Protein should also be given every week, 2 weeks, or once a month.