New member looking for some advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jackmac

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Sacramento, CA
Hello Tortoise owners,
This is my first time posting, been following the forum for some time. My wife and I are searching for a new companion, only dilemma is that I really want large size tortoise, but currently lacking the skill (no prior experience with tortoise, only with dogs) and the space (give we still live in a 900 ft apt in northern california). Heard people suggesting Russian, Greek, Hermann for first owners but I still want a bigger size tortoise. What do you guys recommend? Thank you.
Jack

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Next size up would be a leopard or a redfoot. Have you looked in to the care of either of those much?

jackmac

5 Year Member
Sacramento, CA
Hey guys,
Thanks for the warm welcome and quick reply. In terms of size, are the leopard tortoises bigger than the the red-foot? My wife and I don't have much experience, curious if any members can point out some useful links from this forum. Thanks in advance.
Jack

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
You'll find a ton of info if you go to the Leopard or Redfoot sections. Leopards are available in two types. The more common subspecies is babcocki. They can get from 12-18" or so, and the adults do well in warm dry areas. Babies need some humidity and hydration though. I don't know redfoot torts very well, but there are at least two types of those as well. They need a bit different set-up and diet than the desert type torts and they can get around 10-14". (Any of our redfoot keepers should feel free to elaborate and/or correct me.)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Jack:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

DesertGrandma

10 Year Member!
Arizona