New owner..a few questions..

Kaylah6

5 Year Member
Hey all :) so I've just adopted a 7 year old male red foot from a lady who now has no room for him. My questions are, how often to I change his water, do I let him out the vivarium? He seems pretty nervous at the minute so I'm leaving him to settle and get used to my voice for a couple of days. Advice please :)

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 84

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:). Change water every day or two, depending on if it's clean. They need a higher humidity and a very large area.

Sulcata_Sandy

5 Year Member
Pacific NorthWET
I'm new to redfoots myself, but not totally new to tortoises. One came in thru my rescue, but I'm keeping him because he's just fabulous and outgoing.

I change water almost daily. He walks around and poops in it, so sometimes sooner.

Here are some observations and or notes I've taken while reading various care sheets and posts:

No basking...they are shade/jungle dwellers. Some enjoy it, but not required. I offer a basking area a few times a week.
Mist his shell (not substrate) daily.
Little UV needed. I have a 24" Flourescent ReptiSun that turns on 3x a week.
Lots of plants for hiding...thing thick jungle or "Edge of Rainforest".
Don't hibernate
They don't like bright lights. Avoid PowerSun. My closed chamber is heated with a CHE and a Blacklight bulb. It offers light and warmth.
Cool side 80°, warm side 90°, humidity 85%
Keep environment moist, so pour water in corners, not all over. They are prone to shell rot if on moist substrate all the time.
Feed a variety of greens and fruits (non-citrus). Feed animal base protein once a week.

Ok RF experts. If you see any badness in my above notes, please speak up! :)
I posted this 1) to help and 2) for feedback from you guys. This is my newest favorite species, so I'm learning all I can.

kathyth

10 Year Member!
Beaumont, CA.