New Owner, New Enclosure, Any Suggestions?

ess_ay_em

Location (City and/or State)
Claremont CA
I have a 10 month old leopard tortoise hatchling. I just built this set up for him and was hoping to get some feed back as I am new to owning a tortoise. The enclosure is 3' by 4' with heating lights and UV raise 20" from the substrate. Area under heating lamp stays between 80 and 95 F. the opposite side gets to 65 at night around 80 during the day. I did my research and think I have everything covered but not totally sure. I plan to keep him here for the next year or 2. I live in SoCal so the plan is to have him outdoors when he's large enough. Any advise or suggestions would be great to make sure he stays happy and healthy.20181222_083036.jpeg20181222_083030.jpeg20181222_083023.jpeg20181221_183134.jpeg

TechnoCheese

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lewisville, Texas
Welcome to the forum! There’s a lot that needs to be changed.

-your night time temps are much, much too cool. Your temps should never fall below 80 in the coolest part of the enclosure.

-there is no way to keep the 80-100% humidity or warm temps you need in an open enclosure. You need to make it completely enclosed with very little ventilation, which can be done with a shower curtain.

-your uvb light is likely doing very little or nothing at that height. What kind of uvb light are you using, and what brand?

- those ramp bowls are huge flipping hazards, and it should be changed to a terra cotta saucer.

- your thermometers need to be at tortoise level. You’re currently measuring the temps above the enclosure, not inside it.

-your tortoise will likely be able to climb over the walls soon, if they’re as short as they look in the picture.

Please give these a read, and come back with questions-
How To Raise A Healthy Sulcata Or Leopard, Version 2.0 https://tortoiseforum.org/index.php...ealthy-Sulcata-Or-Leopard,-Version-2.0.79895/