New red foot with some issues needs advice

abby1013

Hi everyone, I just got a new friend and his name is Blastoise. I got him from a friend who was trying to rehome him after she learned of his neglect from his past owner. I plan to get him in good shape so we can grow old together. I also have a Ball Python and am a reptile enthusiast to begin with, but I am new to the specific needs of this tortoise. Of course I have been reading but I value specific advice even more. Ok here it goes.

So far I have him in what he came with. A 60 gallon glass tank. I don't intend to keep him in this forever, I will eventually build a table, but unless you think it's really bad for him I would like to keep him there for now. I have him out every day to run in the yard or soak in the tub so he isn't in there all the time. It has a ceramic heat emitter that keeps it in the high 80s in his basking spot then tapers off to the 70s. And a UVB light but I don't have it on because I read conflicting opinions on that. He does go outside. In his past life he was kept in way too dry conditions. We live in southern California and he was in a desert climate without proper or consistent humidity. So to remedy this I rigged together a humidifier that runs the steam up a tube and into the top of his tank. It keeps his tank 70-80%.

He came with store bought pellets which I read are bad but I would like to hear your thoughts. I am now feeding him according to what I've read which is all pretty consistent. I know his water bowl is too small. He climbs up on top of it a lot but can't really soak. I do soak him pretty often so is that fine? His substrate is that jungle carpet stuff which I just pull out and hose off.