New Russian owner

Status
Not open for further replies.

jacquiroell

5 Year Member
Hi. So glad I found this forum. I am VERY new to tortoises. A week ago, I inherited a 5 yr old Russian from my sister. They had her in a 50gal glass aquarium with pine shavings. After doing a lot of self teaching on the subject, I have found that that is not the best home for a tort! We already had a 75gal tank (I used to have a terrarium/aquarium) so we put her in that with wrapping paper wrapped around the sides For a visual barrier (did they not notice how she wacked her head agains the glass all the time?) and I've put in cypress mulch and coconut mulch as a substrate. ANYWAY we are building a tort table this weekend for her and I've put a temporary outdoor area for her which she seems to love. I could use any suggestions on how to help her because she's so used to being in that glass tank and never being held so she just walks along the board walls of the outside area and she goes into her shell when I go near her. Thanks and I'm happy to be here!!
Jacqui
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Cloud 9

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
So. Cal.
Welcome to the Tortoise forum community Jacqui :).

Does the Russian tortoise have a name yet ?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Jacqui:

Welcome to the Tortoise forum!!

Can you make an outdoor pen for your steppe tortoise? They do much better outside than inside. They eat broad-leaf weeds and plants, and being able to graze on these items is the best diet for them.

Your new steppe tortoise can live outside until the cold weather sets in, then you can box him up in shredded newspaper and let him hibernate. So, really, there is no need for spending a lot of money making an indoor habitat.

jacquiroell

5 Year Member