New Russian Tortoise Parent/DIET & SUBSTRATE questions

Imeon

Location (City and/or State)
Rowland Heights
Hi all! I am new to the page because I have adopted this amazing Russian Tortoise "Lucy" from a friend who is moving. I have cared for this tortoise when they are out of town for the past 20 or so years so I am very used to it's usual care routine. We've become pals too over the years and I want to give her the best life possible with me. They are giving me a new glass 20201129_160621.jpgenclosure but I thought about changing it or blacking out the bottom half. I can't have her outdoors overnight due to predators. That being said, before she actually gets to my place, I have a couple of questions that I can't find through Google searches. I am hoping that this community can help me out. TIA Im sure I'll have more questions as time goes on. Lol

1. She is on a diet that mainly consists of romaine lettuce and occasionally mixed frozen veg. I want to add to her diet but will it adversely affect her if i change it up? Should I just introduce new foods little by little?
2. Do you recommend that I keep the topsoil substrate or change it?

Thanks a bunch.

Attachments

• 20201129_160115.jpg
    20201129_160115.jpg
    610.7 KB · Views: 13
  • 20201129_160318.jpg
    20201129_160318.jpg
    347.1 KB · Views: 14
  • 20201129_160349.jpg
    20201129_160349.jpg
    550.7 KB · Views: 14
  • 20201129_160342.jpg
    20201129_160342.jpg
    696.1 KB · Views: 14
Last edited:

TaylorTortoise

Abington
Hello! And greetings.
Thank you for taking in that beautiful tortoise :)
I will say, that cage is extremely small. It needs a lot of space. I would recommend getting a raised garden table or building your own out of wood. Glass is not the best for tortoises most get stressed out because they are trying to get outside the glass.

Russians need a wide variety of leafy greens, weeds, flowers as part of their staple.

The DONT’S
Fruit
Frozen veggies
Small enclosures for fish… lizards