new Sulcata owner: advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kurosawa

5 Year Member
Hello to all, I'm new to the tortoise keeping bit, as such, i am in need of a bit of advice. I got my sulcata from a friend and took him to a pet store where they sell them as well. They sold me a to gallon tank, a water dish, and woodchips as well as heating lamp (the ones with the red bulbs), as well as a log half thats been hollowed out for him to crawl under. I keep the tank in doors as its pretty cold right now here on Southern California (and a bit rainy). Am I in need of anything else? I know i need a full spectrum bulb, any cone reccomend a brand? how close should i keep it to the tank. I was also planning to buy a large plastic tub, and fill the bottom with dirt and plants and leave that on the balcony so I as i can keep my sulcata in that during the day time, then bring him into the tank i keep indoors at night. Its been suggested that I feed it rabbit grass along with a vitamin supplement: appetite plus. Is this recommendation correct? any and all help is greatly appreciated.

PS, Reeses is about 3 inches long and according to my friend a few months old.

galvinkaos

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Temple City, Ca
Welcome again. My recommendation is read the old threads under 'Sulcata Central' and 'Enclosures' from sulcata owners. Good info has been previously posted. Also if you are going to have him/her on the balcony during the day make sure there is shade as well as something to protect him/her from birds and other predators. What part of so. cal? I am in Temple City.

Dawna

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Inland Empire, CA