New sulcata owner!

Status
Not open for further replies.

luvmysulcata

5 Year Member
Hi everyone I'm new to all this im glad I found this group there's so much good info! My name is Linsey I'm from Kansas and I just bought my first sulcata! I'm not sure if she's a girl or boy but I'm calling her a girl LOL how early can you tell if they are m/f? What kind of bedding should I use? If I want to clean her shell want can I use? I have SO many questions!!! ;) thanks for all your help!

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
Hi and welcome! Where in Kansas are you? I am in Nebraska, but only a few miles from the KS border. How did you happen to decide to get a sulcata? What are you using for an enclosure? For substrate, I myself (and my tortoises) prefer the coir expandable bricks with a small percentage of sand added. Is the shell just dusty or something more on it? I just use a soft toothbrush and water on the shells when needed.

Arizona Sulcata

10 Year Member!
Mesa, AZ
Welcome! You won't be able to tell the sex of your baby for a few years. Depends in size more than age. I use coconut fiber as my substrate. It holds in moisture nicely.

luvmysulcata

5 Year Member
luvmysulcata said:
Hi everyone I'm new to all this im glad I found this group there's so much good info! My name is Linsey I'm from Kansas and I just bought my first sulcata! I'm not sure if she's a girl or boy but I'm calling her a girl LOL how early can you tell if they are m/f? What kind of bedding should I use? If I want to clean her shell want can I use? I have SO many questions!!! ;) thanks for all your help!