New sulcata parent

Ser

Location (City and/or State)
Arkansas
Hey everyone!
I'm new to sulcatas. I've been doing rehabilitation and release for native red ear sliders in my area for a few years. I've been obsessed with Sulcatas for a while and had the opportunity to get a hatchling a few days ago. The person I got her from said she was 4 months old, she seems a lot younger? They where soaking her 2x a week and I've upped that to once a day and put a dish in her enclosure as well. She seems to be eating and pooping just fine. Here are some pics.IMG_20180828_100739.jpg 15357209132091340431340.jpg

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

I like to inform people so they know what they are dealing with. Sometimes its not the best news, but I think it is better to know. That tortoise is probably about 2-4 week out of the egg, tops. Maybe less. It still has a prominent egg tooth. The egg tooth has completely gone away by 4-6 weeks, and you would see new growth between the scutes as well.

Soaking twice a week is not the right way to start a baby. Since they lied about the age, they likely lied about this too. What else did they lie about concerning how this baby was started?

In any case, on to the good news. The baby looks pretty good, so hopefully everything will go smoothly and you'll have a giant tortoise companion for decades to come.

Most of the info for care and feeding on this species you will find is old, wrong, and based on incorrect assumptions about how this species lives in the wild and what they need. Sounds like you have already found the right info since you are soaking daily. Here is all the right stuff in one location for you:
https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/
https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/how-to-raise-a-healthy-sulcata-or-leopard-version-2-0.79895/
https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/for-those-who-have-a-young-sulcata.76744/