NEW TO REDFOOT TORTOISE

Status
Not open for further replies.

jpdhld

5 Year Member
IMG_0242.JPG

Her is my girl Jewel! I am new to all of this and any pointers I can get would be great! We have had Jewel for 5 days! I think she is doing good, she will only eat or drink when we put her by or On her food or water, we are doing a daily soak and they I try to get her to eat! Is soaking daily to much? We got her from Petsmart and well I am learning really fast that Petsmart people DO NOT KNOW MUCH! I am waiting for some tortoise books to come in to my library so I can learn more! So Like I said any pointers would be wonderful!

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:

Redstrike

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
New York
I'd recommend you visit this site if you haven't already:
http://www.tortoiselibrary.com/index.html
Loads of good information here, so take your time and digest as much of it as you can when time permits.

I generally keep a warm and cool side in my enclosure, the gradient runs at ~90ºF on the warm end and 82ºF on the cool end. My lighting compliments this heat gradient (bright on the warm end, dim on the cool end). Many just run things at about 85ºF throughout with great success - there's nothing wrong with this, I just like to provide options. There's always water available and it's changed everyday. I use the ceramic plant saucers and bury them until they're level with the substrate.