New to the forum! Introduction

krh1

Hi everyone!

I'm new to forum and thinking about getting my first tortoise. I have some experience with amphibians but this would be my first reptile. I'm at least a year or two away from purchasing but I figure it's never to early to start with the research! Any pointers anyone has on good "beginner" breeds would be much appreciated! My biggest concern is that I live in Saskatchewan, Canada so with the exception of the summer months, the tortoise will have to spend the majority of the year inside. While I love the look of the Redfoot tortoises, I'm leaning more towards a Russian or Hermanns tortoise because of this. Would either of those breeds do well indoors for up to 9 months of the year (given an ~8' x 4' enclosure, appropriate lighting/heating, etc...)? I'm also willing to consider box turtles if they would be better given my weather-related limitations!

Also, are there any recommendations on breeders near Saskatchewan? I'm more interested in getting an adult tortoise but would consider a younger one if the breed is particularly hardy!

Thanks!
Kate

russian/sulcata/tortoise

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Northern California, bay area

leigti

5 Year Member
southeast Washington
Hello, welcome to the forum. Any of the smaller tortoises would work. As well as box turtles. But you are right you will definitely have to have a large enclosure, very good lighting and heat. I would also suggest that you get a temperature gun and a uv index meter. Russians, Greeks, Herman's, box turtles are all small and would adapt to an indoor enclosure when needed. Some of them hibernate but it is debatable on whether you have to hibernate them or not. There are also tortoises such as hinge backs and marginated. I don't know a lot about them immensely them from but I have heard good things about them. Check out the species specific sections here on the forum and they will give you some good ideas about each toward a species.