Newbie here :))

Hawaiifornia

Location (City and/or State)
NorCal
Hey, everyone! I just bought my daughter a tortie for her 11th birthday, and my daughter named it "Squirtle". I don't know the type, nor age, as the store (PetSmart) employees didn't know either. They wrote "Testudo Tortoise" on her (the PetSmart employee was able to give me this much) adoption papers, but when I googled it, I found out that Testudo means tortoise...So according to PetSmart, she's a "Tortoise Tortoise"? o_O Fantastic, at least I know she's a tortoise tortoise, and not a monkey tortoise because those require special permits. If anyone can help me figure out these details, I would be very grateful :<3: Squirtle's shell is approximately 4-inches long, and you can see the markings on her shell.

Anyways, I came across this forum while googling what sort of plants are safe for her, and wound up reading other posts regarding tortie care. Everyone here seemed to be very helpful and friendly, so I decided to join...Hi! :D

Sharon

IMG_0263.PNG

Last edited by a moderator:

Destben

Kansas
Looks like a Russian to me, but I will let others confirm. PetSmart carries 3 different variety of tortoise with the scientific name Testudo.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

You have a russian tortoise there. Aka horsfield tortoise if you are in the UK. Formerly known under the latin name Testudo horsfeildii, but recently renamed into the genus Agrionemys horsfieldii.

The pet store most likely sold you all the wrong stuff and care all the wrong care info, so these will get you on the right track:
https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/
https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

Questions are welcome and good Luck!

Hawaiifornia

NorCal