Newbie Here

Jeff C.

Location (City and/or State)
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
My spouse and I just retired (late 50's) and plan to adopt a small size tortoise once we have what we need. We live in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma. The starter home we ordered (on it's way from Amazon): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08HFRMSGC/?tag=exoticpetnetw-20

We plan to keep his/her home on a covered patio but also take it out on regular (supervised) strolls around our property.

Here are some initial questions...
- What type of small tortoise breed is recommended given our location/climate?
- Should we buy on-line? Recommendations?
- What is the best heating equipment?
- Best choice for lighting?
- Recommendations for thermostat?
- What other supplies are a must have from day one?
- Any other advice? Anything welcome! :)

Thank you!
Jeff

Blackdog1714

5 Year Member
Richmond, VA
My spouse and I just retired (late 50's) and plan to adopt a small size tortoise once we have what we need. We live in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma. The starter home we ordered (on it's way from Amazon): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08HFRMSGC/?tag=exoticpetnetw-20

We plan to keep his/her home on a covered patio but also take it out on regular (supervised) strolls around our property.

Here are some initial questions...
- What type of small tortoise breed is recommended given our location/climate?
- Should we buy on-line? Recommendations?
- What is the best heating equipment?
- Best choice for lighting?
- Recommendations for thermostat?
- What other supplies are a must have from day one?
- Any other advice? Anything welcome! :)

Thank you!
Jeff