Newbie here!

MsDaisyyyy1

Location (City and/or State)
Phoenix, AZ
Hello,
I am a newbie to the Tortoise mom life šŸ¢! After a lot of research and talking to pet shops- I am confident that I have a Sulcata. If you see the picture and know itā€™s something else please let me know. I have set up my little guys habitat to the best of my ability. I did quite a bit of research however as many may know sometimes the information on the internet can contradict itself. So I have a few questions hopefully I can get better help here than I did at pet smart where the only information they knew came from the employees mother in law.
1. Hay-Primary diet? Alfalfa or Timothy?
2. Weeds- Are Backyard weeds okay? If not where does one go hunting for weeds?
3. Meal worms- How often should these be given?
4. I get paranoid about the temperature in the tortoises habitat, so I was thinking of putting a camera in there to monitor from time to time. Is there a specific camera that would be recommended, that of course would not get in the way and wonā€™t bother my little guy?

I am very receptive to feedback. I included pictures of my tortoises habitat. I want to be able to provide the best of environment I can for my Tortoise.

Attachments

• D18C150B-2C54-4554-8C6B-B47FE048038A.jpeg
    D18C150B-2C54-4554-8C6B-B47FE048038A.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 5
  • 501633C0-3E80-4F57-B542-AF045736B842.jpeg
    501633C0-3E80-4F57-B542-AF045736B842.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 5
  • E80999BD-CD42-45B7-90FC-709C52CB00AE.jpeg
    E80999BD-CD42-45B7-90FC-709C52CB00AE.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 5

Alessandro Previero

Boston
Hi and welcome to the forum!
Yes it is a Sulcata, the picture is quite zoomed in, but I could say between 3-6 months old(?).

Overall, you can find all the answers for food on @Tom post here: https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/for-those-who-have-a-young-sulcata.76744/