Newbie Here

Status
Not open for further replies.

JNorm

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hello all,
Im currently considering getting a tortoise or maybe a bearded dragon, im not sure yet....
I already have a 55 Gal Aquarium, basking light, light hood, and other basic things that would be in a fish tank. Its been throughly cleaned btw.
I know about lighting UVB and such that they require already, i plan on getting a MVB bulb.

Anyway now for the Questions.....
Im trying to decide if the tank would be to small for a tortoise such as a russian tortoise.
If i got a tortoise i would be more willing to build somthing such as a "Tortoise Table?" rather than upgrade my aquarium.
I would more than likley get one from a local pet store, i live in indiana and havent seen any breeders near, or rescues with these animals
Anything against certian petstores?
How fast do russians grow? i would put him in my 55gal, with no view to the outside, it would be covered in cardboard at the bottom. But i wont be able to build anything untill this spring or summer,
if i got one thats about 4" how quickly would he grow?

Any advice from someone that may own a russian tortoise?
:D
thanks everyone.

Meg90

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
WI
using cardboard as your substrate? and what does no view to the outside
have to do with anything??

Russians as a whole do not get very large, but aquariums are not recommended
for any species of tortoises because they limit airflow.

You'd be better off with a 20$ christmas tree tote from walmart. Check out
the enclosures threads and click on the one at top and you'll see what i mean.

JNorm

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
I just thought this tank would work untill summer, i already have it and its empty....
And the cardboard is because ive read multiple times that if they can see out, it can not only stress them out, but they may try to go threw the glass, or scratch at it.