Newbie Here!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thwaitey

5 Year Member
Hey guys, picking my Horsefield Tortoise up on Friday! Can't describe how excited I am about it.. I've done more research into this than any of my uni homework!

My 36" tortoise table is coming tomorrow and it comes with a UVB bulb and heating bulb.. Do I need to connect something to a thermostat? I live in England so the weathers never really great.. My room is always pretty warm most of the time though!

Any help/advice would be much appreciated!

P.s. Hi everyone! Glad I can be involved in this forum!

Here is the Tortoise Table I've bought btw.. ImageUploadedByTortoiseForum1364996399.413893.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Thwaitey, and welcome to the Forum!

Thwaitey

5 Year Member
I will post pictures of the little dude when I've got him settled in, thinking of Yoshi for a name..

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:) how exciting for you. Such a big day. Many of us uses a thermostat to regulate some of our heating elements. It's a nice added security. However, many don't. It really upto you.

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Suburban-life in Salem, Oregon
Welcome to the wonderful world of tortoises and to the forum.
Concerning your question regarding the thermostat, I use a ceramic heat emitter,(CHE) on a thermostat for the added security of knowing the temp is always where it needs to be. I use a heat emitter for the heat, as they produce no light, and I feel night should be dark. The circadian rhythms of a tortoise can get messed up with constant light. Some people use red lights at night which sometimes confuses the tortoise into thinking non-edible things like the substrate is food.