newbie questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sinyo

5 Year Member
hi guys
i'm new at this hobby :)
i just got my baby sulcata 4 days ago and i have questions about keeping this cute little creature :D

- how long should i soak my torto in a day? some said 30 minutes is too long and cause the baby had a cold but the others said 30 minutes or more is better
- what's the best step, breakfast+basking then soaking+basking or soaking+basking first then breakfast+basking?
-can i put my baby sulcata with his terra outdoor without light or i just keep him indoor?
-based on my baby's pic below, what will his carapace colour be when they grow up? lean to be light colour or darkish?

enclosure
IMG-20130518-00144_zpsa5f21f5c.jpg

my baby :D
20130519_142956_zps3abe7b6b.jpg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Sinyo, and welcome to the Forum!

I think you should put the habitat up on a table, up off the floor. I don't know where you live, but here in my climate, next to the window and on the floor would be putting the baby in a cold draft.

I pull my babies out of hiding in the a.m. when I turn on the light, and place them in warm water next to where the light shines down on the floor of the habitat. I leave them there while I chop up and prepare their food. This takes about 20 minutes or so. Then I place the food on the feeding tile, place the babies around the food, then quickly step out of their sight.

If your weather is warmer than 70F degrees, there is no reason to include a light outside, however, babies will quickly cook in the sun, so be sure to provide shade.

Most all adult sulcatas are the same color. Beige with darker brown sections.

Sinyo

5 Year Member
Yvonne G said:
Hi Sinyo, and welcome to the Forum!