Newbie to Tortoise (Elongata)

joel0226

Location (City and/or State)
Southern Philippines
Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie in this forum as well as having a tortoise. I am from southern Philippines and had bought an Elongata tortoise from a pet store almost a month ago. I am very new to tortoises but already have pets such as a pair cockatiel birds with to adult hatchlings already. I've been looking forward of having a tortoise for a long time but just a month ago have found a breed that could probably survive the climate here in our area, so I choose Elongata as this is common to other Southeast Asian countries. Mine is already 6 inches in carapace and the owner told me that it is already 3 years of age. Unfortunately, the owner told me that what I bought is still unsexed as it is still a juvenile. On my research and also reading a lot of topics here in this forum, I found out that the sexing of tortoise (Elongata) should be done 4 years onwards for reliability. My new pet temporarily stays in an old aquarium (1.5 ft. x 3 ft.) and placed outside with direct sunlight during early morning for almost 30 mins. and will be under the shade for the rest of the day. I have made an outside enclosure (4 ft. x 8 ft.) with live plants for food. After a month of observation, my tortoise will be transferred to outside enclosure.

Below are the pictures of my new pet, hope you could help me in sexing my pet as I am planning to buy a pair in the next few weeks.

20160410_062508.jpg

20160410_062519.jpg

20160410_062408.jpg
Sincere Thanks,
Joel

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Hi Joel

Tortoises are loners that don't want, need or particularly like company. In the wild, they roam large distances, meet up to mate and move on.

They don't get lonely and they're not social like humans and dogs. They don't want a friend of the same or the opposite sex. Another tortoise is just competition for territory and food.

If you have more than one tortoise, one is always dominant.