Number of spurs on thighs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawn and Dianne

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Lakeland, FL
I was looking carefully at our yearling "Io" and noticed that she had 3 spurs on one leg (one slightly smaller), and two on the other. I read a couple of places that they usually have 2.
Does anyone else have a sulcata with more or less spurs?
I assume that it can't hurt anything, I was just curious.

Since the picture is posted, I might as well all the experts, my vet sexed Io as female, any other input?Io tail.jpg

Dianne and Shawn

Last edited by a moderator:

Lil' Tortie

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Central TX
I'm not an expert but looks like a female to me. My temp sexed female sulcatas' anal scutes shape the same way and close together like yours. One of them have irregular spur like yours(2,3), and another one have only one spur on each thigh.

Shawn and Dianne said:
I was looking carefully at our yearling "Io" and noticed that she had 3 spurs on one leg (one slightly smaller), and two on the other. I read a couple of places that they usually have 2.

Since the picture is posted, I might as well all the experts, my vet sexed Io as female, any other input?

Dianne and Shawn

drgnfly2265

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
FLORIDA
Thank you so much for posting this issue!!! I have the same thing going on with my sulcata!!!

I have been calling the spikes on it's rear it's "butt spikes". When I first got it, it had two on each side. I thought that it was so funny that they had spikes there so that is how I noticed what happened. Then a couple of months later I noticed that it has 2 on one side and 1 on the other. I was wondering what happened to that spike! I was wondering if it was like teeth, do they lose them then grow them back???