One tort sits on the other

Status
Not open for further replies.

topazjewel8

5 Year Member
So I am a newbie and I have had my torts for only 15 days but I don't know what it means when a tortoise sits on another tortoise. They both are about a year old and were together when I got them. Dotty weighs about 182 grams and Poppy weighs about 118 grams. I don't really know their gender, I just named them that way. So far I have caught Dotty sitting on Poppy three times in two days. I thought they were playing, but my mom thinks Poppy is being bullied. I put a cardboard divider down the middle of their 20 gallon tank. Poppy is sleeping right now, but Dotty seems agitated. She is walking around in circles and has black around her mouth. My mom thinks Dotty has been eating poop! That's just gross! Dotty seems angry.
What do I do? Should I keep them seperated? I want to do the best for Poppy. She needs to grow and get bigger. Help!

M

Maggie Cummings

Tortoises do eat poop. It's natural for them. But to help you we at least need to know what species of tortoise you have? Also a 20 gallon aquarium is great for fish but not so great for 2 tortoises. So take us some pictures and tell us what species they are...we'll start from there. Oh...The one was sitting on the other because she was bullying the bottom one and your tank is just too small...20 gallons isn't even big enough for 1 tort...

Candy

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Alhambra, CA
Welcome to the forum. What kind of tortoises do you have? Yes one might be trying to bully the other one I'm not sure though and yes they do eat poo. I know it sounds gross but if they can get to it they will ingest it. I don't know if you can put a barrier up like that between them or not I think it might just frustrate them. :)

topazjewel8

5 Year Member