Outdoor and indoor enclosures

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tortoise-Luke

5 Year Member
I'm not an expert on tortoises or anything but i was wondering since a lot of you have outdoor enclosures yet take your torts inside during the night because of low temps o other animals doesnt handling them daily bother the turtles and cause them stress?
I mean to cause no conflict with this just thought it wasnt smart to handle them so much because of stress caused on them. But is it worth it?

M

Maggie Cummings

I handle mine regularly and I don't think it causes stress at all. I think they are used to being handled by me and some seem to enjoy it. I can put my hand flat on the ground and I have a 3 yr old who will climb right up into my hand when she could go the other way. Then I rub her head or under her chin and she holds her head out far and closes her eyes. I totally think she enjoys being held and getting head rubs. I hold each tort every day. I look them all over looking for parasites or shell rot or anything out of order. I feel their legs and look in their mouths, I think all that is a part of keeping reptiles...how else are you going to find something wrong, or out of line?

I put mine all outside when the sun shines and I bring them all back inside when it cools off. I believe they get used to being moved like that. I use a plastic tub and I can put it on the ground and I have a box turtle who will come running and get inside the tub ready to go back inside the house...

Tortoise-Luke

5 Year Member
hahah sounds funny, i can imagine how a captive bred tortoise could get used to its owner, but with it not being a domestic animal i just thought they'd rather not be handled..

NEtorts

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
North East