Oyster shell, decomposed granite, orchid bark

Salspi

Location (City and/or State)
Chicago
Oyster shell, decomposed granite, orchid bark are 3 of the most common recommended substrates for Egyptian torts. I’ve read different combinations of these 3 that keepers here use. I can’t decide which way to go. Is there an advantage to using DG over oyster shell? Should I mix in 25% orchid bark with whichever one I choose?

It seems to me that DG has a bigger compaction risk but I have no experience with either. Please chime in with your opinion. Thank you!

Longhorns1187

Omaha, NE
Oyster shell, decomposed granite, orchid bark are 3 of the most common recommended substrates for Egyptian torts. I’ve read different combinations of these 3 that keepers here use. I can’t decide which way to go. Is there an advantage to using DG over oyster shell? Should I mix in 25% orchid bark with whichever one I choose?

It seems to me that DG has a bigger compaction risk but I have no experience with either. Please chime in with your opinion. Thank you!

We're going to go with mainly oyster shell (at least 50%), some top soil, and some mason sand in our Egyptian tortoise enclosure. We picked up 50 lbs of Manna Pro Oyster Shell from Tractor Supply for $9.99.

Salspi

Chicago
That sounds like a decent price. I thought I read that sand was a no-no. I think I’m going to go 100% oyster shell. I was told that if it’s ingested it will dissolve and it’s actually just calcium.

Longhorns1187

Omaha, NE
That sounds like a decent price. I thought I read that sand was a no-no. I think I’m going to go 100% oyster shell. I was told that if it’s ingested it will dissolve and it’s actually just calcium.