Please help. Greek or Russian or Hermann?

CaseyAR

Yes! Thank you so much. I just took this little guy (or girl) home today and when I asked what kind of tortoise and how to care for it I got an "I'm not sure" as a response. I'm hoping to give him a loving and comfortable home but I'm completely new at this and I have no clue what I'm doing.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Casey, and welcome to the forum!

We have two very nice care sheets pinned at the top of our Russian section, but don't read the one for baby tortoises because yours is full grown.

CaseyAR

Thank you! Are you sure? He seems so small compared to the 8 inches I've read that they're supposed to grow into.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Males are smaller than females with russians, unlike say humans. :) When I got my first russian 15 years ago, it took me 5 years to I.D. the species ( pre-forum).

CaseyAR

Thank yall so much for the help and kind words. My heart is hurting for this poor guy. I was told he was a baby when I took him. He could be twenty years old for all I know, and I have no idea what the poor guy has been through. This is his set up so far. I'm trying to learn as I go. He's in a 40 gallon aquarium for now with a few hiding spaces.20150204_203401.jpg 20150204_203410.jpg

Heather H

N.E. ohio
Please say you saved your receipt . The water dish is a flip hazard. Wal-Mart sell terra cotta plant saucers just need one big enough that he can get in. Food dish either a piece of stone, slate or another terra cotta . The enclosure is too small :( what light did they have you get?

russian/sulcata/tortoise

5 Year Member
Northern California, bay area