Please help if you can (lump on throat)

Ron Cobb

Location (City and/or State)
Yucca Valley Ca
Hello:

Let me start off as I'm a good papa of my speedy. I bought him 15 years ago for my son and after a divorse, I kept him, he's 15 years old. I noticed JUST recently his lower jaw/throat swollen. He (we will call him a "he" since I have no idea if it's female or male). Anyway he eats like a horse, loves my attention, even loves my doggies. BUT, with the swelling on his jaw/throat I have been concerned.

Now before everyone says "you should have taken him to vet" one must learn I live in a rural area and haven't found one. Please take a look at the pictures I have included, help me with suggestions and most of all, don't kick a turtles Daddy while he's down.

Emails to my email addy is most appreciated since I may not see what you all have to say if I need to check this great forum, remember I'm a newbie.

Thank you all !

Ron

Attachments

• Speedy 1.jpg
    Speedy 1.jpg
    624.8 KB · Views: 123
  • Speedy 2.jpg
    Speedy 2.jpg
    503.7 KB · Views: 136
  • Speedy 4.jpg
    Speedy 4.jpg
    589.3 KB · Views: 140
  • Speedy 6.jpg
    Speedy 6.jpg
    653 KB · Views: 123

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Ron, and welcome to the Forum!!

Does Speedy live outside? His beak is ever so long and needs to be ground down or trimmed. I've never seen the lump like what Speedy has, but I'm afraid you're going to have to take him to a tortoise vet. If you look in our http://www.tortoiseforum.org/forums/tortoise-vet-list.126/ section and choose your state, then find your city. I hope we have a vet shown there that is not too far from you.

Speedy the Russian tortoise, needs to have a nice, large, safe outdoor pen. If he were biting off his food, grazing, then the beak wouldn't get that overgrown.

Please keep us informed as we all learn from threads like this. Hopefully its not something life threatening.

474158gy04azrh2x.gif