please help me identify my tortoise!

Status
Not open for further replies.

beckyleotortoise

5 Year Member
Hi Everyone,

I dont think my previous post worked o_O

I purchased a Tortoise today off a friend but he has no idea what breed it is. It is 4 months old. Can anybody help me identify him?

Thank you

Attachments

• DSCF1375.JPG
    DSCF1375.JPG
    2.8 MB · Views: 143

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Tropical South Texas
Welcome! I am not the best with the testudo species of tortoises. Looks like a little hermanns tortoise though.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi and welcome to the Forum!

I'm not good at I.D.ing the Mediterranean species of tortoise, but it looks like either a Greek or a Hermann's. Someone else will come along and give you better info.

beckyleotortoise

5 Year Member
Hi, thanks

Now I'm very confused because i thought it was a Hermann, then I thought it was a horsefield but now you have me thinking it's a Hermann! Lol o_O

X

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
No, its definitely NOT a Russian.

beckyleotortoise

5 Year Member
oh, I got told from another site that a Herman has 4 toes, and he has 4 toes! confussssssed lol

mctlong

5 Year Member
SF Valley, SoCal
Whatever it is, looks like it has a split scute. Very cute.

I don't know if its hermanns or Greek, but I agree that's its definately not horsefields.

beckyleotortoise

5 Year Member
Thank you very much, I will post another picture later.

It came from a pet shop that only sells Horsefields and Hermanns, so I know its one or the other. But my friend doesn't know which one :(

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
It is NOT a horsefield. That much we are all sure of. If you post the requested pics GB will be able to tell you for sure whether its a greek or a hemanni.