Please tell me Rupert is okay!?

Russian_Rupert

Location (City and/or State)
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm new to the tortoise scene but I'm loving being a tortoise mummy.

When I bought Rupert, I was told he was born in the back end of 2016 early 2017 which would make him at least a year old.

He sleeps ALOT and he really doesn't eat all that much, maybe a few bits of leaves.

Also when I've looked at pictures of other tortoises, they have smooth shells, but Ruperts has tiny little bumps on the very top of the black bits. I'll upload a picture of Rupert.

Please could I have some advise or am I just overreacting?

Thank you lovely people

received_10215933665842846.jpeg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Rupert seems very small for a yearling. I wouldn't worry about that shell. Most babies have slightly rough-looking (as opposed to real smooth) shells right out of the egg. I'm thinking he's quite a bit younger than you were told. He shows no growth between the scutes, and at a year there should have been some growth.

We have a pretty nice care sheet for baby Russian tortoises pinned at the top of our Russian section. Be sure to read that and make adjustments to your care of Rupert, and to his enclosure as needed.

Is the picture showing Rupert in his enclosure? If so, I would get rid of the towel and replace it with a substrate you can moisten slightly. Also, those reptile dishes really weren't made with baby tortoises in mind. Because they live in a hard shell that doesn't bend, it's hard for baby tortoises to go up, over, then down into the bowl without tipping over and maybe drowning. We like to use a plant saucer that is sunk down into the substrate so the lip is even with the ground. That way the baby only has to reach his neck in to drink. Plus, if he wants to go in the saucer, the sides slope, making it easier to climb out.

TechnoCheese

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lewisville, Texas

wellington