Possibly Adopting, New to Torts

Something Typical

Hello, this is my first time posting here. I've been doing a little bit of research on Russian Torts because I might be adopting 2, but I thought I would post my questions here since this seems like the place to get all the right info ;)

About the two torts:
Apparently they are both female and have been raised together in a 50 gallon enclosure
They are roughly 7 years old (at least that's how long the owner has had them)
If I adopt them, they come with the tank and all the lamps, etc.

I do have some concerns, as I do not want to accept responsibility without be fully prepared (I'd hate to disappoint or screw something up).

1. I want to know more about expenses. How much do you roughly spend on them in a month? Or a yearly basis?
2. The lamp thing is a little fuzzy for me. Could you explain the difference between what UVB and UVA (is that what the initials are?) and how often do you change them? What are the costs of these?
3. How often do you change their cage fully? Do you also daily pull out excrement or weekly? Etc.
4. From what I've read so far, rooming two together is a bad idea? If I get them, should I separate them? Do I need to look in to different housing?
5. Could you tell me about the smell? Right now I have a hamster who does not smell at all, and a mouse who smells quite powerfully. My family is not a huge fan of stinky animals.
6. The person who owns them now lives in a different state than myself. Will a 4 hour transportation be too stressful?
7. Where do you typically house your torts? As in living room, kitchen, etc. Are they animals that need high traffic or low traffic areas? How are they with dogs (barking, not interacting)?