Prospective tort owner, need help choosing!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mjdeisher

5 Year Member
I'm just beginning my search for the perfect tortoise to buy. I've read a million articles on care and everything for them,including building a table, food, hibernation, etc. the list could go on for days. I've wanted a tortoise since I was a kid. So, now the time has come for me to finally decide which breed I want. I really am looking for some advice from experienced owners. Here are a few things I'm looking for...

A tort that will stay small(ish). I am in an apartment in northern Indiana at the moment. I will only be here another year before moving to a house. So, one that will stay under 7" for the first few years would be ideal.

A tort that is hardy. I love my pets, they mean the world to me. I would hate to lose a pet because I am a slight newbie. You can educate yourself so much before you get a pet, but each one is different so I need something that can hold up during our transition phase.

Lastly, I'm not sure about having to hibernate them. It makes me nervous just thinking about it. So thought on hibernation? If it truly is safe to not hibernate, Im fine with one that does in the wild. I've just read mixed articles.

So,that's about it. Money isn't really an issue. Like I said, I live where it isn't possible to keep them outside. I want to make the right decision so any help/opinions/thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
Marci

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Welcome, Marci!

I think a steppe tortoise (Agrionemys horsfieldii) would be the right tortoise for you. They are a small specie and very hardy, and forgiving of newbie mistakes.