pyramidded shell cross section **GRAPHIC PICS**

Status
Not open for further replies.

Az tortoise compound

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
I post this here due the conversations it will create.

1. This animal died from "natural" causes. We had a necropsy done by the vet to verify. The shell was returned to us.
2. A hacksaw was used as it was the thinnest bladed saw available.
3. We cut down the middle of the back and cut through the spinal column in the process.
4.I am not a scientist or a veterinarian. I am only attempting to share pics that others might not get to see without this post.

Here goes,

moswen

5 Year Member
nice pics. what is the dark stuff inbetween?

Balboa

5 Year Member
PNW
Thanks Mick! Very Interesting,

Layman Observations , could be way off!

-Looks like the cerebral column was unaffected by the pyramiding. (I've wondered about this before) Now I'm wondering about the bone or cartilage between the shell proper and the spine. Odd looking, but perceptions can be off from a pic.

-The Bone "proper" of the shell directly under the keratin looks pretty good. Seems to be dense and not especially "spongy" like its "supposed to be" (if pyramiding is MBD).

-as previously seen the keratin is relatively thin and follows the bone. It is visibly thicker at its oldest portions.

moswen

5 Year Member
haha, thanks for putting those observations in an easy-to-understand form for people like myself, balboa! i actually understand most of that except for one thing, where is the cerebral column? i don't believe pyramiding necesarrily equals mbd, though, i think that's what you're saying too?

Robert

5 Year Member
Galaxy far, far away...
Interesting. The "spongy" bone looks very similar to our cancellous bone. This is the section of our bone in which marrow is produced and new bone is formed. Also looks similar to our epiphyseal bone found in our "growth plates". The outer, non spongy, bone looks more like our hard cortical bone.