Pyramiding

Status
Not open for further replies.

johanna

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Fargo, ND
I'm really embarrassed to be asking this, but why are the shells of my pancakes not smooth? This is a difficult post because I feel people will judge me for this. I think I posted a long time ago when my male was younger but it was fairly minor then. It still isn't bad on him, but it is definitely not smooth. I've had the male for 2 years and he was small when I got him. I've had the female 2 years since she was a baby. The female is a little worse. She has some indented spots. How did I fail them? I've been keeping reptiles for about 15 years so I thought I was doing everything right. I have a feeling I wasn't soaking enough when they were little. They have heat, hiding places, UVB, a large soaking tub, they go outside in the summer; I feed grass, dandelion, cactus pads, spring mix, mustard greens, beet greens, chard, watercress, and other random things that I pick up.
I included some pictures.
Male:

Female:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
All of the things you mentioned do not cause or prevent pyramiding. Pyramiding is caused by growth in conditions that are too dry. I bet you have an open topped enclosure and a heat lamp, right? Its near impossible to maintain good growing conditions with an open top. All your warm humid air just floats up and into the room. You probably read on the internet that glass tanks are bad because they don't get enough air flow. All the air flow in an open topped enclosure, like a "tortoise table" removes the good air the you are trying to create.