Red Foot Tortoise Humidity

redtailcatfish

5 Year Member
What would you guys suggest for the humidity of an adult red footed tortoise, she is hanging out in her water bowl much of the day and I think that her current humidity is way to low (50 - 60%). You guys have any suggestions on how to raise it and keep it raised?

New2reds

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Louisiana
What type of enclosure is your red foot in? 50-60% humidity is low for a red foot. What temps are you keeping your enclosure at? Also are you using one of the round (cheap) humidity gauges? I learned that those are far from accurate. Went and bought a good one and found out my humidity was a lot higher. However I have a very young red foot not too sure about the adults. There are a lot of folks here with more experience than me. I am new to red foots but have learned a ton from this forum!!

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
I keep my reds at 80/90% humidity. But I'm careful to keep the substrate dry . They are prone to shell rot .

Elohi

5 Year Member
Texas
mike taylor said:
I keep my reds at 80/90% humidity. But I'm careful to keep the substrate dry . They are prone to shell rot .

Omgosh how do you keep the substrate dry but keep the humidity up?
I don't have red foots but am intrigued about humidity levels and substrate moisture balance since I have leo hatchlings.

AnnV

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
SWFL
ENCLOSED CHAMBERS...
I raised mine (according to instructions) in a plasitc open topped tub. I guess I am lucky that mine never had shell rot because I kept the substrate pretty wet (one end tipped higher and therefore dryer).
But I can tell you from experience, you will get pyramiding at 50 - 60% humidity. Even 70%. So enclose your habitat somehow and get the humidity up without keeping them on soggy substrate.
This is what mine are in now:

Attachments

• 1385403192409.jpg
    1385403192409.jpg
    62.4 KB · Views: 184

mike taylor