Redfoot rescue has a cut on his head, tips on treatment?

pockets

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Los Angeles County
This is my first time posting, I apologize if I make any mistakes!

I rescued my tort when (s)he was about 6 months old. (S)he is now around two years-old. Although (s)he is biologically female, we have been inattentive with correcting pronouns and thus will refer to them as "he".

Dmitry (nicknamed Dima) was in terrible condition when we rescued him. Severe pyramiding, lethargy, indigestion and unhealthy stools, soft shell, cracked/bleeding skin, etc. His health was so sensitive that any and all substrate we used would irritate his eyes and skin. We tried cypress mulch, Eco-Earth, sphagnum moss, and a whole myriad of other combinations. We even purchased substrate from reptile conventions used especially for sensitive torts. Because of this, he is a free-roaming tort. His health has vastly improved since we made the change, his pyramiding has improved as he grew larger (they used to look enormous on his tiny body, now they have flattened out a great deal). He is extremely active and happy, we always find him running around the kitchen waiting for his next meal. Heat and humidity is kept at high levels for his comfort.

About two weeks ago, Dima scraped his head on a sharp branch or rock while he was grazing outside. Bleeding was minimal and stopped pretty quickly. However, the cut is located exactly where his head meets the softer flesh on his neck, meaning any time he extends his neck, the wound stretches and occasionally reopens. The exposed tissue is a healthy pink color, but there are some scabs around it that worry me. His behavior has not changed at all, he is just as active as he always is, he's always willing to eat and finishes his meals, he has no problems pooping, and he seems happy in general.