Russian in the rain

Status
Not open for further replies.

SailingMystic

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Chester County, PA
I'm new to having a Russian and he's been outside the last couple of days and nights and it's been raining a lot. My box turtle loves the rain and humidity and thrives, but Hemi I'm not so sure. I brought him inside tonight to dry warm temps and after a soak he climbed up on his rock and did head jerks!! He never did this before. He seemed very excited to be back inside.

Is he getting too much rain or humidity outside? When it's warm and sunny I don't worry - but it's cooler and rainy and I'm wondering if he can handle 58 degree evenings?

lynnedit

10 Year Member!
Southwest Washington
If it is >60 nights and they have a dry burrow, they sometimes just hide out until the rain settles down. They don't like it as much as Box turtles do, although occasionally a Russian will.
They can tolerate cooler temps at night if they can bask during the day (that is, it's OK it they are dry, down into the 40's, if the sun comes out the next day to warm up under).
The main worry is cold and wet, but you probably did the right thing (depending on your temps) by bringing him in.

SailingMystic

5 Year Member
Chester County, PA
I just checked on him and he went from the cool side to his warm side of his enclosure (indoors)! He is smiling now. I wonder if he jerked his head earlier because he was cold and couldn't warm up? He's so smart. And so darn cute!! Now I guess I should watch out for rain and take him inside often??

lynnedit

10 Year Member!
Southwest Washington
You have to be a weather watcher.
If it is going to rain for a day, but not be too cold, and he has a dry area, he will be OK.
If it is going to be cold and damp, or the rain will last several days, probably bring him in.

Soon you will be worrying about finding him shade! ;)

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California