russian tortoise eating habits

Status
Not open for further replies.

ceci3692

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, IL
Well I'm new to owning a russian tortoise so I'm not sure exactly what I should be feeding him. From the sites that I have been researching so far I have been feeding him broccoli, kale, romaine lettuce and carrots. I tried to feed him apples and green peppers but he refuses to eat them. He ate some dead plants while playing outside the other day? I had to move him away from the plant because I wasn't sure if that was safe.

What other foods should I be feeding him? I know it's good to have a variety, but there's not too many plants for me to feed him. I'm looking for things i can buy at a grocery store. And also he is about 5 inches, how much and how often should he be feed?

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State
This site has some good Russian care information: www.russiantortoise.org

Russian tortoises eat almost exclusively leafy greens. Broccoli should not be fed. Kale is okay in moderation, romaine lettuce is fine. Carrots should not be part of their constant diet but are good occasionally for additional vitamins. Stay away from fruits altogether.

A good quality, varied diet should consist of, but not be limited to: escarole, endive, romaine, arugula, chicory, dandelion, broad & narrow leaf plantain, vetch, alfalfa, clover, lambsquarter, sow thistle, mustard, beet & collard greens and occasional spinach is fine too as well as most other non-toxic weeds and plants. Vegetables can be fed occasionally in the form of: squashes, pumpkin, green & yellow beans, peas, bell peppers, sweet potato and occasionally corn and other vegetables.