Russian tortoise hibernation questions.

BudderTurtle

I'm new to Russian Tortoise Hibernation and I've been doing a lot of research and i'm only hibernating my RT for 3-4 weeks. I was wondering if I could get some tips and stuff. Also should I start fasting my tort and lower the temp and daylight hours at the same time or which order do I need to do it?

Jodie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Spokane Valley WA
I am leaving temps and lights up for a 2 week fast. Daily soaks during this time. Then cool down.

BudderTurtle

I am leaving temps and lights up for a 2 week fast. Daily soaks during this time. Then cool down.
So i don't feed my tortoise for 4 weeks? Cause fast is 2 weeks and cool down is 2 weeks right? So no food for 4 weeks?

Jodie

5 Year Member
Spokane Valley WA
I am not sure cool down takes 2 weeks. I know @Tom says 2 weeks with normal temps, and daily soaks. Then adjust lights daily or every couple of days.

BudderTurtle

Oh okay. but I've heard some people cool down leave the temp higher than 55 degrees F then fast.
Which is the best method???

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
So i don't feed my tortoise for 4 weeks? Cause fast is 2 weeks and cool down is 2 weeks right? So no food for 4 weeks?

I try to make the cool down period take about 10 days. So two weeks of normal temps, soaking every other day, and no food. Then 10 days of shorter day light hours and cooler temps. Then into their individual hibernation tubs and into the fridge with temp set around 50. Then I gradually drop the fridge to 40ish over the course of another week and hold it there for the duration.

I think you should shoot for 6-8 weeks of fridge time this year. I usually do 12-14 weeks.