Russian tortoise shell

Status
Not open for further replies.

pallarez

5 Year Member
I am a new tortoise owner and I have a Russian tortoise named Lola, I have had her for a bout a month and a half now and I am starting to get very worried about her shell, I want a beautiful healthy Russian tort like I see on YouTube and how their shells are just so gorgeous but something is wrong with Lola's so if anybody can tell me what this is and if and how I can help her I would love the help! ImageUploadedByTortForum1371720265.164091.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1371720280.246340.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Jlant85

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
California
Im no expert in Russian torts and i dont want to freak you out. In the middle scutes looks like there might be some slight shell rotting. I cant really confirm but im sure somebody can help you out. Shell rot needs aggressive antibiotics to treat and will take a long time to heal. Like all torts, they take a lot longer time to recover compared to most other animals. You just have to be patient w/ them.

pallarez

5 Year Member
How does that happen and what antibiotics? I thought it was just lack of calcium at first

Jlant85

5 Year Member
California
pallarez said:
How does that happen and what antibiotics? I thought it was just lack of calcium at first

It occurs when bacteria starts flourishing on the shell of a turtle/tortoise and will eventually cause it to have the appearance of rotting fruit with small pits and divots or a moth eaten appearance. Antibiotics you'll have to ask in the forums. I have never dealt w/ it myself. But like i said earlier, im not sure if it is rotting. Will just have to wait for somebody else to respond.

pallarez

5 Year Member
Jlant85 said:
pallarez said: