Scooter doesn't seem to be growing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LiveTilWeLaugh

5 Year Member
Hey all, I'm new to the tortoise forum, but I thought if anyone could help (for free :p) it would be on here. Ok, so I have an 8 month old sulcata named Scooter. He is very lively and LOVES to roam around his tortoise table. (he has about 16 sq. ft. of room to roam) He eats plenty, loves taking long soaks in his water dish and bask under his heat lamp. He eats dandelions, romaine, clover, mallow, geranium, and grape leaves. And the occasional small piece of my banana. :p Yet, he doesn't seem to be growing! He has small growth rings on his shell but not even all of the scutes have separated yet. Is this normal? Am I worrying too soon? I have heard that they generally double in size in the first year. So I guess I am confused as to why he isn't going to. I have ordered the TNT supplement that people on here suggest and that is on its way. Any ideas? Oh, and he also doesn't burrow. I've even started one for him and he doesn't use it. Will that start later?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
You say the scutes haven't separated yet. If I'm interpreting this correctly, they're stuck together?

Maybe you're not soaking the baby enough and he's being kept too dry?

For a month or so, take a Q-tip, dip it in mineral oil, and paint the seams between the scutes. While you're painting, rub gently, massaging the oil into the seam. Once you have done the whole tortoise, take a soft absorbent cloth and wipe off the oil, polishing the shell until there is no more oil left on it.

LiveTilWeLaugh

5 Year Member
I may be saying it wrong...it is m understanding that when the shell grows the small scutes on the back don't get larger, they separate and new growth forms between them?

LiveTilWeLaugh

5 Year Member