Seeking Sulcata Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

turtlewurx

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Nacogdoches, TX
Hi.
I'm new to keeping Sulcatas. I've got 4 babies. (About the size of a silver dollar) My care routine is cobbled together from several sources, and I tend to be a bit paranoid at times. I figured that rather than worry if I'm doing something wrong, I'd just post my routine here & ask for a critique from the experts. I'll lay out how I take care of them below. If anyone has suggestions on what to improve, I'm all ears.

OK, I have them in a 4'x4' table, with an organic potting soil/mulch mix. I have Bermuda grass growing in the soil for them to eat. They have a Zoo Med PowerSun UV Mercury Vapor Lamp 100 Watt that provides UVA/UVB & heat. (There's also a 400 watt Mercury Halide for the grass.) There's a drain at the bottom of the table, so that the soil doesn't get too damp. The soil's about 3" deep, so they can dig if they want. The table has 4 hides. (At the moment -as you can see from the pics below, the lighting is on the unsightly side. I'll be fixing all of that soon. Running the wiring in conduit, making a hang board for the lights, etc.)

I feed them once a day (about a double handfull) mix of Romaine Lettuce and Mustard Greens with Timothy hay mixed in.

Once a week I sprinkle about half a teaspoon of Rep-Cal Calcium with Vitamin D3 Ultrafine Powder over their food.

Once a day I give them a soak in warm water. (I've read mixed comments on leaving in or taking out the water after the soak, but I've noticed the guys will climb back in every now & then, so I decided to leave the water dish in the table & just change the water daily with their new soak.)

Table temps are about 100 degrees under the lamp & between 75 & 80 on the cool side.

Attachments

• 2012-03-30_07-50-20_630.jpg
    2012-03-30_07-50-20_630.jpg
    694.9 KB · Views: 45
  • 2012-03-25_21-47-49_5.jpg
    2012-03-25_21-47-49_5.jpg
    699 KB · Views: 38