seeking sulcata info for western washington

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmopar74

5 Year Member
hi all, im a tort newb looking to get a sulcata juvi in western WA (buckley) and am concerned about out weather patterns round here. i do have 5 acres of land and have outbuildings with heat, and want to build a dedicated heated shed for my sulcata.

so 2 major questions right off the bat-
1. how tolerant are these guys to our rainy bland weather?
2. are sulcata juvi's available locally or should i order one from tortoisesupply.com?

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Foothills above Sacramento CA
Hi..
WAsh can be abit cool and wet for them, but you CAN do it.
I would look at getting a rescue Adult.. big as possible, so they can handle the temp fluctuations better.
A large shed or shed with a covered warm area can be built. Look at Tuff sheds. Loafing shed and copy that design.. nice large indoor area and a covered attached outside area..
read the sulcata section here, and look for Maggie and Bob posts.. she lives up there.

M

Maggie Cummings

I live in the Willamette Valley so it is gray and wet most of the time. It rains here 7 months out of the year and the rest is spent with snow and just plain lousy weather.