Should I let my hermann's tortoises sleep outside?

whats_my_greek

Location (City and/or State)
Germany
Hi everyone,

My western hermann's tortoises have been sleeping outside for the last three days, the lowest night temperature was 12°C (45°F). However, the night temperatures are going to get as low as 6-7°C (44°F) this week (and pretty much until the end of May), and I'm debating whether I should take them back inside at night. They have a cold frame but only one of the two tortoises goes in it, and the other one was very dehydrated and underweight when I got her and is currently still slowly healing. What should I do?

whats_my_greek

Germany
I’m no expert at all and I hope some others with more knowledge chime in but I would think that for sure any tortoise that is not fully healthy should not be subjected to anything other than optimal conditions.
That's also what I'm thinking. I just don't know what would be worse between moving her around and stressing her or letting her sleep in the cold.

Krista S

Platinum Tortoise Club
Saskatchewan
2 tortoises should never be kept together as one of them will be bullied. Usually one will thrive and the other will not. If these 2 have always lived together, that is likely what you’re seeing with the one being dehydrated and under weight. They should be separated immediately so the one who is struggling can get back into good health.

In my opinion, 44 degrees is pretty cold and risky to leave them outside. If they are babies, definitely they shouldn’t be out in the cold. If they’re older and you choose to take the risk with leaving them outside, it should only be done if it warms up significantly during the day for them to reach optimal temperature again. This isn’t a risk I would take though.

Here is a link to the best care sheet available for your tortoises.

whats_my_greek

Germany