Should there be a daily serving of greens served in a dish in addition to the grassy lawn that my tortoise always has access to?

Bowi

Location (City and/or State)
Ca
I’m a newbie here for pardon all of my questions!

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
When my leopards get to go outside in summer to graze, I don't feed them daily anything else. I will about once a week feed them something, whether romaine if its extra hot out, other greens, or mazuri.

Bowi

Ca
Variety is always the best. What kind of tortoise? A good variety of grass, weeds, grape leaves, mulberry leaves.
Hi, it’s a desert tortoise. I don’t have grape leaves or mulberry leaves, but I have snail vine, rose of Sharon and my lawn. I can offer endive or escarole, and other store bought items if needed. My understanding was that they mainly need and eat grass and everything else is sparingly. I adopted him, and he’s coming to our sliding glass door as if his previous owners handed out food, it’s very cute. I opened the door, and he walked right in! (And right back out he went) haha!

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
Hi, it’s a desert tortoise. I don’t have grape leaves or mulberry leaves, but I have snail vine, rose of Sharon and my lawn. I can offer endive or escarole, and other store bought items if needed. My understanding was that they mainly need and eat grass and everything else is sparingly. I adopted him, and he’s coming to our sliding glass door as if his previous owners handed out food, it’s very cute. I opened the door, and he walked right in! (And right back out he went) haha!

They love Rose of Sharon blossoms & leaves. I would feed a few daily.
Id also add in some Opuntia cactus pads & blossoms & the “tuna”.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California