soon to be new owner of a sulcata

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnnysd

5 Year Member
ever since my brother left me in charge of his hermmanns tortoise. i've been bit by the tortoise "bug" i am about to be the proud new owner of a 2 1/2 year old sulcata. He's about 8" long. i've been doing a lot of reading on this forum so as to prepare myself.
i think i have the basics down, please feel free to let me know if i'm missing something.
a large grassy yard to graze. a diet consisting of leafy greens and grass. a shelter at night.
but i'm a little confused about the right temp. i live in southern california. and right now its hot i mean 88-90 hot. but at night it is dramatically cooler. i've read some posts where it says i should keep hanging heater in the turtle house to keep the temp at 85. does the temp really need to be 85 at night or did i misunderstand something. i'm pretty new at this so any advice would be appreciated. also some say to feed mitzuri. while others say its ok. some say only feed grass and weeds and never fruit while others say its ok. i must admit i'm, a little overwhelmed by all the info.
i almost forgot. what about humidity. what do i do about humidity if i keep him out doors. i mean southern california is not too humid

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
All of your questions dip into the realm of opinion and different people do it successfully many different ways. It also depends, to a degree, where you live. The advice/opinions for coastal San Diego might be totally different than it would be for Palmdale, even thought they are both in "Southern CA". Now, on to your questions and my opinions...