species id

lismar79

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio USA
A friend found this guy crossing a high way in northern ohio. Wondering what he is so we can release or find placement if non native

Attachments

• IMG952014052195163616.jpg
    IMG952014052195163616.jpg
    261.2 KB · Views: 78

Turtlepete

South Florida
Do not release it, as it's not native to your state. Either a russian or a greek, I'm not good at identifying Testudo/Agrionemys. Someone will come along and tell you in specific, but it's best to hold onto it. Likely a released/escaped pet.

lismar79

5 Year Member
Ohio USA
Oh wow! Poor guy was in the middle of a 4 lane high way! I'm trying to talk him into giving it to me.

Turtlepete

South Florida
Yeah don't release that. Actually looks like a Herman's to me. @HermanniChris would know. It's definitely a Mediterranean species.

Really? Hm, that was actually my first impression but then I talked myself out of it. Didn't look quite like the hermanni to me. As I said though, I suck at identifying Testudo :).

lismar79

5 Year Member
Ohio USA
Well I got him or her for $20 & 2 packs of cigs.....please let me know what you think. Got him or her set up temp with extra tort supplies I had till the weekend.

vqhcpi.jpg

2a82rnt.jpg

28vq3r8.jpg

2n6htgp.jpg

lismar79

5 Year Member
Ohio USA
6 inches long. I have not weighed yet but he or she is solid.

Saleama

5 Year Member
Irving Texas
You got a heck of a deal on a beautiful little female! I wish I could stumble onto deals like that!

lismar79

5 Year Member
Ohio USA
Her shell has some spots. Is this a fungus or rott. Lord knows what she has been through.
2n2btc.jpg

bouaboua

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
San Jose CA
I just glad she is in your hand now.

HermanniChris

TFO Sponsor
10 Year Member!