Spending a lot of time in the cold end

andyhubbert

Location (City and/or State)
Liverpool, UK
Hi

Firstly I’m new to all this and I have done my research prior to buying my Hermanns (called Tim)

I suppose I’m really scared something is up with him.

I’ve had him for 2 days now. The first day he was pretty active but today he has been really subdued. He’s up in the corner and has burrowed down. He was taken outside earlier and ate some clover. I’ve bathed him and placed him back under his power sun (combined heat and UV) but he moved back

Is this okay? He hasn’t really been under the UV much today

IMG_0486.jpg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome!

Your tortoise looks to be about full grown. Full grown tortoises don't really like being cooped up indoors in SMALL enclosures, and your tortoise table is too small for him. But what you're seeing is actually quite normal. Tortoises are territorial and he's sulking because he doesn't want to be there. He wants to be back in his old territory. They don't like or appreciate change.

I think he would be much better off if you were to set him up outside in a nice, safe and secure outdoor enclosure, only bringing him in during inclement weather. Then, his indoor enclosure should be twice the size of that tort table. He also needs to have the choice of hiding places, some sight barriers (plants, a big rock, a knick knack, etc.), a waterer and a piece of slate or tile to eat off of. Once you have all that "stuff" added to his enclosure, you'll see what I mean about your tort table being too small. They also like to dig down into the substrate, so four or five inches of substrate would be nice.

What kind of lighting are you using?

Please take a look at our care sheet:

https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/sticky-hermanns-tortoise-care-sheet-updated.101410/

(If I guessed wrong and Tim is NOT a Hermanns, then take a look at the Greek care sheet Here):