stubborn

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hippiesicle

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Phoenix AZ
A little over 2 months ago I was walking out my house to go to work and I saw what I thought was a dead bird under my truck. I poked my head under and there was a tort!

Long story short: I got her checked out, found out she was a desert tortoise who was about 2yrs old, underweight, dehydrated, soft shelled, and with an eye infection.

She is SO DAMN STUBBORN about eating. I'm assuming she was a pet because she is very friendly and social, and the day I took her in she ate iceberg like there was no tomorrow. I think the person who had her last didn't know much and didn't take very good care of her. I make her a fresh salad every day with a variety of greens, shredded carrots, some native grass, and maybe some creosote. When(if) she eats, she mainly picks out a few greens and goes back to sleep. If I dust her salad with a Ca supplement she won't even do that. I'm new at this and have been trying to soak up as much info as possible. I need advice!

I have her indoors, I mixed native soil with some peat moss for her substrate, I've got her under a mercury vapor lamp during the day and a porcelin heat bulb at night (it does get nippy in the room shes in).

Oh, and her name is Zen.

longbeachskunk

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Long Beach Ca.
Hi there Hippiesicle, poor Zen! She's lucky to have found someone to nurse her back to health and take good care of her. Here is a link I found on a post yesterday
Tortoise Group Pamphlet

Its a good one to start with. There are also other threads that have links to a diet sheet pn what they should and shouldn't be eating, I'll dig that up for you...

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA